Re-enrolling a device after decommissioning

Decommissioning erases the device’s cryptographic management identity (management certificate and private key). To enroll again, the device must still have a valid enrollment certificate from the original operating system image or from your provisioning process.

After you restart the agent on the device, it goes through the enrollment flow again and appears as a new device in the inventory (typically with a new generated device name). For approval and labeling steps, see Enrolling devices in the Additional resources section.