By default, OpenShift Container Platform uses Linux control group version 1 (cgroup v1) in your cluster. You can enable Linux control group version 2 (cgroup v2) upon installation. Enabling cgroup v2 in OpenShift Container Platform disables all cgroup version 1 controllers and hierarchies in your cluster.

cgroup v2 is the next version of the Linux cgroup API. cgroup v2 offers several improvements over cgroup v1, including a unified hierarchy, safer sub-tree delegation, new features such as Pressure Stall Information, and enhanced resource management and isolation.

You can switch between cgroup v1 and cgroup v2, as needed, by editing the node.config object. For more information, see "Configuring the Linux cgroup on your nodes" in the "Additional resources" of this section.

Enabling Linux cgroup v2 during installation

You can enable Linux control group version 2 (cgroup v2) when you install a cluster by creating installation manifests.

  1. Create or edit the node.config object to specify the v2 cgroup:

    apiVersion: config.openshift.io/v1
    kind: Node
      name: cluster
      cgroupMode: "v1"
  2. Proceed with the installation as usual.