Transfer ownership of a disconnected cluster

You can transfer ownership of a disconnected OpenShift Container Platform cluster to another user in your organization or a different organization using OpenShift Cluster Manager.

Before you begin

  • You must have a Red Hat login.
  • You must have an OpenShift Container Platform cluster.
  • You must be the Cluster Owner on the cluster, or an Organization Administrator in the associated Red Hat account. See User access concepts in OpenShift Cluster Manager for more information.

About this task

To transfer ownership of a disconnected cluster, you only need to initiate the transfer in OpenShift Cluster Manager.

Procedure

  1. Log into OpenShift Cluster Manager as the current cluster owner.
  2. Initiate the transfer:
    1. Select the cluster that you want to transfer from the Clusters list.
    2. Click Actions > Transfer cluster ownership at the top of the cluster’s details page.
    3. Click Initiate transfer to confirm this action.
  3. Provide the cluster UUID to the user that you are transferring the cluster to.
    Note

    You can find the cluster UUID on the cluster details page in OpenShift Cluster Manager (Cluster ID), or on the About page of the cluster web console in OpenShift Container Platform.

  4. As the new cluster owner, log into OpenShift Cluster Manager.
  5. Register the disconnected cluster with the cluster UUID using the steps in Registering disconnected clusters.

    When the cluster registers to OpenShift Cluster Manager successfully, the cluster ownership transfer is complete.

Results

Log into OpenShift Cluster Manager as the new owner of the cluster. You can verify the transfer was successful by checking these details in the cluster Overview:

  • In Details, the Owner has been updated.
  • In Cluster history, details of the transfer appear.

If the cluster was transferred to a different organization, you can log into that organization to verify the update. The cluster now appears in the target Red Hat account’s clusters list, and has been removed from the previous Red Hat account clusters list.

It is recommended to update the pull secret to match the new owner once the transfer is complete. For more information about updating the pull secret, see Updating the global pull secret when transferring cluster ownership.